Seafood Laksa – Yanwo (Golden Fish Noodles), Farringdon

image

See, told you I’m addicted! Yes, it’s laksa for lunch today. Was feeling a tad hungover and was head down bum up at work, non-stop till way past 1 o’clock. Thought I give myself a treat and went to checkout this joint just across the road from where I work.

image

Golden Fish Noodles is located along Farringdon Road, across from Mount Pleasant and just next to Exmouth Market. I was intending to grab something from the food trucks in the market but most of the trucks had a long queue of customers and Junk just could not be arsed queueing up today.

image

As you can see from the menu, definitely not as budget as Chop Chop but it won’t break the bank either. I really should force myself to try other stuff apart from laksa. Perhaps the Beef Ho Fun in a sauce or the Belachan Chicken Fried Rice can be my next target.

image

Seeing I’m feeling a tad hungover, decided to be health and have tea instead of a soft drink. Ordered the “Iron” Guanyin tea. Also asked for a glass of ice on the side so I can make my own ice tea.

image

At £7.80 which is close to £3 more than the Chop Chop version, one would expect more ingredients in this Seafood Laksa. So there was 2 big deep fried prawn wonton, 3 fish balls (don’t laugh!), 4 big slices of squid, quite a few cubed fried tofu, loads of green beans and bean sprouts in a thick and satisfying gravy laced with curry leaves.

image

I’m glad they use thick egg noodles here instead of the more common rice vermicelli. Though the noodles felt mushy, they were actually very well cooked with still a slice bounce. The only complain I have is I could do with more gravy and the spoon had a massive bowl which makes scooping out the gravy awkward.

image

Empty bowl, satisfied tummy.

Hmmm… did not notice there was service charge added to the bill till later. I would not have tipped as generously as I had if I’d known. Then again, the service was very good. Both the waitresses were attentive and efficient. They really should reprogram the till to show the right business name soon.

image

Golden Fish Noodles
102-104 Farringdon Road
London EC1R 3EA
0207 7837 5293

image

*Update: It would seem that my point about the restaurant reprogramming the till to match the restaurant’s name was partially accurate. Walked by the joint today and noticed that it was no longer Golden Fish Noodles but Yanwo instead! Would seem like I visited in midst of a transition. Makes me feel like a revolutionary!

image

Yanwo Restaurant
102-104 Farringdon Road
London EC1R 3EA
0207 7837 5293

3 thoughts on “Seafood Laksa – Yanwo (Golden Fish Noodles), Farringdon

  1. Hi.
    I am a seafood laksa lover and I was addicted do seafood laksa of the YANWO restaurant, after they close I never ate a seafood laksa really nice.
    Today I found your page and I am seeing you like laksa too, so I wanted to ask, for you where you ate the best laksa? And/Or which place you recomend?
    I want too much eat seafood laksa but I dont know where can I find a really nice one.

    Like

    • Hello Elisabeth,

      Try Hare & Tortoise, they have several branches. Penang! At Westfield Shepherd Bush or a cheaper version at Chop Chop with a few branches around London.

      I also wrote about laksa from Chop Chop and Hare & Tortoise in my blog.

      Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

