Pastrami on Rye – Rough Trade East, Brick Lane

image

Today’s lunch is from a rather unconventional place, a record shop! I walk by Rough Trade East almost everyday on my way to work and noticed there in a small cafe in the shop. Upon closer inspection, they serve a couple of hot sandwiches for lunch and a specific one caught my eye. The Pastrami on Rye.

image

image

More specifically according to the menu, it’s pastrami, Emmental, gherkin, piccalilli on toasted rye bread and it’s made to order which ensure it’s freshness. At £4, it’s not bad but they have a lunch special which includes a sandwich, a cup of hot apple juice and a bag of pork crackling for £5. Obviously I went for the offer.

image

Personally, I think the sandwich was excellent! The pastrami was tender, not too salty and quite generous. The amount of gherkin and piccalilli did not overpower the pastrami slices and the balance was just right. The toasted rye bread could be thicker (I like my bread thickly sliced) but it was nicely toasted and I simply loved the caraway seeds scattered throughout the bread. Apparently, not all rye bread have caraway seeds, only some does.

image

While waiting for my sandwich to be made, I spotted a few other interesting things apart from records in the shop. Will have to pop by one of these days to see whether I can pickup some stocking fillers.

image

Rough Trade East
‘Dray Walk’
Old Truman Brewery
91 Brick Lane
London E1 6QL
0207 392 7788

4 thoughts on “Pastrami on Rye – Rough Trade East, Brick Lane

  1. Pingback: 14/365: National Hot Pastrami Sandwich Day « Eat My Words

Leave a Reply

