Chicken Masala Dosa and Vada – Dosa World, Hanbury Street

image

Funny how cravings are like, came noon and my taste buds went ding, I want dosa. So it’s off to Dosa World for lunch today.

image

I have blogged about Dosa World before and a reader commented that he was surprised I managed to get a Meat Masala Dosa as he thought South Indians are predominantly vegetarians. Found myself standing outside the restaurant staring at the menu to gear myself for a vegetarian meal but the call of protein was too hard to resist. I succumbed and ordered a Chicken Masala Dosa with a side of plain vada. The dosa cost £5.99 while the plain vada was £1.49.

image

The Chicken Masala Dosa is served with a mild but flavorful sambar. To be honest, I much prefer the chicken to the meat version I have previously. Somehow, it’s more moist and the plain shredded chicken blends in much better with the rest of the filling.

image

As for the vada, the plain version is so much better than the spinach version! Crunchy on the outside but nice and fluffy on the inside. Perfect with the 2 chutneys that came with the order. The nice man who took my ordered explained that the white chutney is made with coconut (that was my guess before) while the red chutney is more spicy and made with tomato. I don’t know which chutney I prefer, I think they taste best when combined.

Brings back memories of when I was a kid growing up in Singapore. The vadas we have usually has a big unshelled prawn on top and always served with fresh whole green chilies. Oh well, the vada from Dosa World will just have to do then.

Dosa World
46 Hanbury Street
London E1 5JL
0207 377 0344

2 thoughts on “Chicken Masala Dosa and Vada – Dosa World, Hanbury Street

  1. Pingback: typical Breakfast Menu in chennai ( BEST BREAK-FAST ) | earthisonecountry

Leave a Reply

